welcome from the Governors of lee-on-the-solent junior school

The governors work with the Headteacher to ensure there is strategic leadership, robust accountability and good oversight of the school’s educational and financial performance.

Governors visit the school regularly, examine progress and attainment data, review the school budget and make sure the school is working towards its current objectives in the School Improvement Plan (SIP). 

The full governing body (FGB) meet at least twice per term. Responsibility for specific areas is delegated to committees or individual governors as detailed above. Governor committees include Headteacher Performance Management, Pay Committee, Resources Committee and Curriculum Committee.

All of the members of the Governing Body can be contacted via the School Office.

Governors are appointed, elected or co-opted onto the Governing Body for a term of four years to represent the views of parents, staff, the local community and the Local Education Authority. We aim to have a broad range of expertise, skills, and experience among the governing body, so that together we can support and challenge the school.  Governors attend training to up to date with current legislation around governance.

 The role of the governors is strictly strategic, and the day-to-day management of the school is entrusted to the Headteacher and the school’s Senior Leadership Team. However, the governors are keen to be involved in the life of the school and are often in attendance at school events.

 Contacting the Clerk to the Governing Body

The clerk to the Governing Body is Mrs Shelley Rees and she can be contacted via the school office.

Name of Governor Role
Parent Mrs Ann Marie Boxall Health + Safety Resources
Parent Mr Steve Osborne Transition Sports Premium Curriculum 
Parent Mr Perry Jarom Behaviour Curriculum
Parent Mrs Nancy Trevathan

Second Vice chair


Premium Curriculum

Parent Mr David Hill Training and Development Governor Resources
Parent Mrs Dawn Haynes-Sewell Resources
Co-opted Mrs Marilyn Mullen Curriculum
Co-opted Mrs Lyndsay McLees

Chair of Governors Curriculum 

Pupil Premium

Governor Monitoring

Co-opted Mrs Gloria Howles


Co-opted Mr Ryan Lind

Vice Chair

Lead Resources Governor

Co-opted Mrs Amanda Jones



Staff Mrs Lyn Hobbs Resources
Headteacher Ms Chris Toner (Interim)
LA Governor Vacancy
Co-opted Vacancy


Associate Governor Rev. Dr Paul Chamberlain
Associate Governor Mrs Lucy Faulkner
Associate Governor Mrs Hayley Winters




Details of Governor Attendance for the academic year 2017-2018 can be download below:
Show list Show Grid

A copy of the Governing Body Register of interests can be downloaded below:


 Parent Governor Vacancy:

Parent Governor Vacancy March 2019